European Film Festival 2019

The 6th edition of the European Film Festival in South Africa will be held simultaneously at Cinema Nouveau theatres in the three cities of Johannesburg, Pretoria and Cape Town from 29 November to 8 December.

There are 12 participating countries this year, with one film per country: Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Ireland, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. All of the films are award-winners, new to our shores, with some of them selected to represent their countries at next year’s Academy Awards.

The European Film Festival 2019 is a partnership project of the European Union’s Delegation to South Africa and twelve European Member State cultural agencies or embassies based in the country. They are: the General Representation of the Government of Flanders, the French Institute in South Africa, the Goethe-Institut, the Italian Cultural Institute, the British Council, and the Embassies of Austria, Belgium, Ireland, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, and Sweden. The project is organised in cooperation with Ster-Kinekor Cinema Nouveau and Cineuropa and is coordinated by Creative WorkZone.